Hi! My name is Danielle Stern, and I am a student at the University of Wisconsin – Platteville. Over the course of this semester, I am hoping to keep up with this blog, continue to build my PLN, and move one step closer to graduation. Within the next year, I am going to move back home, get married, and student teach next fall in the West Bend area. I am hoping that with student teaching in the area, I will get my foot in the door, and that I will be able to find a job. This blog is being created so that I can reflect and talk about my experiences as I finish getting my degree and as I start to search for job.

WHY TEACHING?

Some may be wondering why I chose to become a teacher. I became a teacher because of some of the teachers that I had at Silverbrook Middle School.

The first teacher to inspire me was my reading teacher throughout my time there, Mrs. Jacobson. Looking back, I appreciate the work that she had me do, even if I did not like it at the time. Without her pushing me and challenging me, I would not be the writer that I am today, and I would not be as strong of a reader as I now am. She genuinely cares about her students and wants to see each of them succeed. While I did not like the class at the time, I now appreciate her and the things that she taught us during my time there.

The other teacher that made a difference in my life from Silverbrook was Ms. Zietlow, my language arts teacher in eighth grade. She taught a unit of poetry in her class, which is what got me interested in writing it. She always encouraged her students to write and express themselves however they felt comfortable doing so (as long as it was in an appropriate manner). In this unit, I wrote many different poetry pieces. One of the pieces that I wrote for her class caught her eye, and she encouraged me to submit the piece for publication. While I was nervous, I did enter it in to be published. While I did not believe that my work was good enough to be published, she saw something in it that I could not. A few months later, I received a letter in the mail from Creative Communication stating that my piece was selected for publication! Had it not been for her, I never would have tried writing poetry, or have been published. After this publication, I submitted two other pieces in the future – both of which were also published. This experience was life changing because I felt that I could convey messages that others might relate to while doing something that I love.

Another teacher that I would like to give credit to is Ms. McIntyre, my AP Literature teacher at West Bend West High School. She was always energetic and enthusiastic every time she walked through her door. She has a love for reading, but a passion for teaching her students. She always treated her students as if they were “hers”. She always made class interesting, and I enjoyed going to class. Whenever I struggled with an issue, she was always there to listen and supported me in my choices. I knew that if I ever needed advice or help, she was always there for me.

All three of these teachers inspired me to become a teacher. If it weren’t for these three teachers (along with others that I’ve had), I do not know what I would have wanted to become. I knew that I wanted to make a difference and help others, and teaching is a great way to do it! I can only hope to be as wonderful of a teacher as the three that I have mentioned above. Stay tuned to learn more about my experiences!

